Conquering the visual noise monster…

13 Oct

I love having my craft supplies and office needs right at my fingertips but I hate to see it all the time in my office! It is what I call “visual noise.” It is sort of like looking at a weeks worth of crumbs on my hardwood floors and feels like drums, trumpets and cymbals banging around in my eyeballs! AAAaahhh! I hate it! To top that off our office is the first room to the left as you enter our house through the front door and it has glass french doors so there is NO HIDING THE CLUTTER! I have my little scrapbooking/crafting organizing modular thing-a-ma-jig tucked into the corner of the office so everytime I walk into my house I am greeted by that thing I call the “visual noise monster!” I thought about replacing it with a cabinet but I couldn’t find the right sized thing that had the storage ability I needed to house all my papers, cutters, glues, embellishments, punches, superhero gear and office supplies. So I just let it be and frowned at it every single time I walked past it.

Until I found these Itso bins from Target…

So Far these bins have made it under my kitchen sink, my pantry and now my office.

I am not a huge fan of the plasticy look BUT these were just the things to take control of all my bits of  craftingness.  (Note to new friends…I make up words A LOT).

Here is my before (frowny face)…

And here is my craft area Itsofied…

Aaaahhhhh. I just took a visual vacation.

I still need to do that one shelf BUT I bought every wide tray Target had. I will nab one more on my next Tar-jay run!

While I was busy conquering the clutter I put together a “family file” so all those pesky little papers from the mail, the schools, the this and the thats can get tucked away so I don’t have to look at them and when I need them I know right where they will be at. And hopefully with my obsession with labeling things my family will be able to find what they are looking for…(doubt it).

I owe my Itso craze to a really cool website called simplify101.com. I got some great ideas from that website and continue to find fun, inexpensive and pretty ways to organize.

I am happy with what I see now and can blog peacefully!

7 Responses to “Conquering the visual noise monster…”

  1. Missy October 13, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Hello, I saw your blog from House of Grace and came over to check it out. Your posts are great! I’m glad you are having luck with Shaklee products. After reading your before and afters…I’m sold!

  2. Anna @ Take the Side Street October 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Oh, I love the “family file” idea. What did you put in it? I see the first three files — but I am SURE i see files behind it, and the detail oriented crazy person in me muuuust know. Haha 🙂

    Also I’m a fan of making up words, just know you’re not alone! I *want* to organize so badly, I just get so caught up in the plan that I forget to..ahem… do it. I’m my own worst enemy I guess. 🙂

    Found you on House of Grace…

    • sixpackaday October 13, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

      Thank you! I am glad you found me:):) I like your blog too!
      I did a coupon file for all those pesky coupons that come through the mail that I cant let go of! One for bills so when it comes time to do bills they are all in one place. One is for the kids’ school papers, book order forms, sign up sheets, classroom updates, etc. I did a “needs to be filed” file (lol that sounds funny) for the papers that need to go in the master filing cabinet. This is usually a pile that ends up growing on my desk so I just made a file for it that way when I get a wild hair I can just file everything away at once. I still have a couple of empty files waiting to be labeled, not sure what I will use them for. Behind these files I tucked away my address book and day planner.
      Hope that helps you! So far it has been very helpful in decluttering my desk and quick and easy to find what I need!
      Good luck on finding your organizing mojo…just dig down deep and you will find it. I go through phases where I don’t feel like doing any organizing and then when it hits me my family starts running from me because they get scared I might stick them in a rubbermaid box and label them! LOL
      Take care,
      Kama

  3. Yvette October 13, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I am so glad I found you through House of Grace. You sold me on the “Shaklee” cleaning products and I am off to find these bins at Target!!! Thanks for sharing and making me smile today 🙂

    • sixpackaday October 13, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment my blog:)
      You will not regret your Get Clean products. I was pleasantly surprised!

  4. kathy T October 14, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    I totally have my ITSO craze from simplify 101–I love her blog and her workshops I’m like a simplify 101 junkie 🙂 I’m just gonna take her workshops the rest of my life because she has me looking at stuff differently and setting my priorities in order and step by step I can tell a difference 🙂

    • sixpackaday October 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

      I was looking at those workshops…they are very enticing! What have you ITSO’ed?? I love those things and any new ideas for this mommy of 4 is greatly appreciated:) PS: You can now find my blog at sixpackaday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

